Facebook-owned Instagram has introduced a new feature called “Archive” which lets you move previously shared posts into a private space much like photo-sharing app Snapchats “Memories”.
Instagram hopes that “Archive” will not only stop people from deleting their photos but also make them more comfortable with sharing certain photos in the first place.
“Your profile is a representation of who you are and evolves with you over time. With Archive, you now have more flexibility to shape your profile while still preserving moments that matter,” Instagram said in a post on Wednesday.
After updating the Instagram app to the latest version, you will be able to archive any of your shared posts by tapping the three dots seen on the top right corner of the post. Once archived, the post will be hidden from your grid and from the public, but you will be able to view it in the Archive section, which is accessible by tapping on the new Archive icon on the top right corner in your profile page.
Instagram says that the feature will let you remove the photos you don’t want without having to delete them. This lets you shape your profile to match your current taste, while at the same time keeps the archived ones safe for you to revisit later. You also have the option to move it back into the profile at any time by tapping the ‘Show on Profile’ option in Archive.