Home / Politics / Voting begins in Uttarakhand assembly for president election

Voting begins in Uttarakhand assembly for president election

Till 11am on Monday, over 50 MLAs of Uttarakhand have exercised their franchise to elect the new president.

Chief Minister Trivendra Singh Rawat, Assembly Speaker Prem Chand Aggarwal, Congress state chief Pritam Singh and tourism minister Satpal Maharaj have cast their vote.
Uttarakhand has 70 MLAs, 5 Lok Sabha members and 3 Rajya Sabha members.

The CM said, “We are confident of a victory. In addition to our 57 legislators, two Independents have also extended support.” Maharaj was of the view that the UPA decision to field Meira Kumar was a wrong one. “There is no doubting the win of BJP candidate,” said the minister.

Meanwhile, Congress MLA from Chakrata, Pritam Singh said, “Meira Kumar is the most suited and desering candidate. She will win the election.

About himalayauk

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also


Rahul targets Modi, Rupani over SEBI fine issue

Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi targeted Gujarat Chief Minister Vijay Rupani over the ...